Unit Orders - Making Real-Time Track

Hey there, I am making a game where you are in “Bird’s Eye View” Mode and you give certain units orders. My question is how can I “select” a unit (Prop:Selected Value:1) and then use the mouse cursor to place an end point and have
1)my object track the quickest possible path?
2)make certain areas “untreadable” and have the path alter itself around such?
I am no blender newbie, so feel free to give me as much or little help as you can offer please! I certainly just can’t seem to figure this one out!
Thank you!
Jeremy B.

Well, once, you have the object selected (figuring out how to do that will not be hard, just browse around here) use this, or a mod of this script to place your objects:

import GameLogic as GL

object=GL.getCurrentScene().getObjectList()

cont=GL.getCurrentController()

own=cont.getOwner()

object["OBPlayer"].setPosition(own.getPosition())
object["OBPlayer"].setOrientation(own.getOrientation())

For the pathfinding, you’ll have to use A* or BFS.
To , make stuff, ‘untreadable’, …If you get through the other three steps, this will be a cinch for you.

Good Luck!

Túrin

This has really helped me, although to be honest I am less familiar with python, and have never actually dealt with A-star or Breadth-first searches before. If someone could explain how to set up a breadth-first search with this following example condition:
-The moving Object. (A cube with a marked “front-side”)
-the Object will sit upon Plane, in which no matter what the camera angle you click on the Plane and the Object will move to the clicked area and will be constrained to being “on” the Plane.
-If there is an Object in the way, the moving Object will evade it.
-The Object moving can be given a set speed, which can also be altered.
-The Object turns so it is always moving “Straight-Ahead” of where front points.