Unwanted deformations when posing rig

I am new to Blender and have been following “The Art of Effective Rigging in Blender” tutorial to rig my character. For some reason, when I pose certain bones I get unwanted deformations, for example, when I rotate the eye, the ear deforms or when I pose the eyelid, the forehead deforms. I have tried removing weight paints from these areas but the problem remains. If anyone can help I would really appreciate it.

Not sure I can help, but I do have a clue. select one of the vertices that are deforming and bring up the n panel to the right of the 3d view, there should be an indication there (under the item tab) of which groups it belongs to. I think I have seen similar issues before where someone was not clear through the weight painting colors what belongs to what.

vertex-groups-n-panel

1 Like

Yep that worked thanks a lot. I’m having to select vertices one by one though and deleting all the unwanted groups which is going to take a long time! Shift selecting more than one vertice isn’t working. Is there a way to just select an entire area of vertices, the ear for example and delete groups? Also, how will this problem be avoided when creating new bones?

You can remove any number of selected vertices from a vertex group by selecting those vertices, then looking on properties/object data/vertex groups. Select the appropriate vertex group from the list, then click the “remove” button.