unwrapping advice

I’m relatively new to Blender and am currently modelling fairly complex architectural shapes for use in virtual worlds.

I’m using smart projections to generate the UV face layout, but I am finding adjacent faces in the model all over the place on the map, which makes texturing rather tricky.

I’ve looked at creating a seam, but can’t seem to generate it correctly as when unwrapping it doesn’t generate a UV layout in the UV/Image editor window. Also there doesn’t appear to be a clean way to generate the seam (though I’m possible not doing it correctly) across the complex shape.

Anyone have any advice on the best method for UV mapping complex cube shapes?

Thanks a heap!

While in Edit mode, go to Edge selection mode, select the edges you want, and hit CTRL+E, a dialog will pop up, select ¨MARK SEAM¨.

That´s the way to create the seams over the model.

I think that the Unwrap option isn´t generating any visible UV Layout because you have no seams in the model.

Then, notice that in the UVs menu inside the UV Image editor, there are some useful tools such as ¨minimize stretch¨ and ¨average islands scale¨. In the ¨View Properties¨ menu there some options such as UV Stretching visualization.

Hope it helps!

F9 - -> mesh tools more --> change dropdown box to Tag edges (seam)
After that you can Alt-Right mouse to place seams.

Ctrl-Alt-Shift-F (set to 179 for flat surfaces)
Ctrl-E > region to loop > Ctrl-E > Mark Seam

Use a checker texture. Unwrap a part. If it looks distorted sort the seams on it till it looks ok. Then move onto the next part.

thanks, I’ll try that… 2 questions though

1)do you think the UV layout using seams will be easier to use when it comes to uv mapping than that produced by the smart projector?