Updating Blender to latest version

I have Blender 2.45 right now but I want to update to the latest 2.46.
Do I download 2.46 and install over 2.45 or is there a update feature?
I am new to Blender so that explains the strange questions. :frowning:

On windows, I just run the installer and it sorts things out. I believe that by default it now puts the versions into separate directorys (I have a Blender and a Blender 2.46).

Not sure about other OSs, I’ve been playing with Ubuntu, but I wouldn’t presume to give any advice there.

If you have Linux, you can go to http://getdeb.net/search.php?keywords=Blender and clck on the [Download: Blender] button, then erase the shortcut off your desktop. If you have it on Windows go tohttp://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/ and just delte your current shortcut - if any- and put the Blender 2.4 shortcut on the Desktop! Hope I helped :slight_smile:

Can someone answer this for OSX. I’m updating from 2.46 to 2.47.
I just want to make sure I install the update correctly with my user preferences the same.
Thanks bunches.

just follow the instruction for the installer it should work fine!

Salutations

I’ve checked for the last hour, but could not find instructions as
to remove the old version first or not.
to install in same folder or not.
These are my main questions.

When I unzip it it creates it’s own folder.
Do I have to relocate any scripts I had in the last installation to the new installation?
Do I relocate my .b.blend file?

[email protected] Thanks…but that’s a little confusing… are you saying that you install it and it preserves your settings or it creates a whole new instance of the installation? I would prefer having the 2.47 build separate until I get a feel for it (oh…i’m running Vista :confused: ). I know you can save preferences to a default file but am unsure of the rest of what you’re saying.