Upgrading versions

I really should have asked this years ago, I’ve been using Blender since 2.48.

Is there any way of upgrading from one version of Blender to the next without losing all of the user settings? Every time I upgrade (just gone to 2.63) I have to set all the preferences for all the addons that I want etc. There must be an easier way of doing this… is there??

The first time you open a new version there is an option in the splash screen to copy your current settings. You can later delete your config files to get back this option.

OH WOW, there it is. Many thanks for that.

I used that button too. It should not disappear though, IMHO.

Sometimes it is not enough: I use many versions of Blender and Blender on many different machines: Linux 32 and 64, Windows 7, OSX Lion. Yet, the solution is simple: just create a directory named ‘config’ in the ‘2.6x’ folder of your installation, the one which has your best settings. Then carry that folder to your other versions.

I will have to give that a try. At the moment I am almost don’t bother getting an optimum setup because I know that I am going to lose it. :frowning: