User Preferences not being saved

When I used to open up blender it would go to a default scene that was conducive to my workflow. Every time I downloaded a new version of Blender I had to recreate my default scene, but it always saved the UI when I clicked “Save User Settings”. I have installed 2.66 and now that feature doesn’t seem to work. I’m not sure why but when I change the UI layout, Save User Settings, and restart blender it doesn’t do it and opens the default scene. Anybody know what the problem could be?

I’m running Blender 2.66 on Linux Mint.

For 2.66 its been split into two options now.

To elaborate a bit: both the menu option and the button in user preferences existed before, but now their names and function have changed. Read this for more info.

Thank you! Everything works great now. That’s pretty dumb that they changed it, but I honestly won’t even notice in a few months. Thank you though!