Using Blender for 2d

Hey Guys I’m new to Blender and this forum. I’m a Classical animation student. I work mainly in 2d. I’m impressed with Blenders capabilities.
I’m wondering If I can use blender to load up a image on a plane but keep certain areas transparent so i can make overlaping planes … like layers in photoshop or gimp.?? I know Blender can do that im just a newbee… I’m not sure if i should be setting a color for what i want translusent …?

THanx :smiley:

I’ve done it. Works pretty nicely. Here’s an animation I did using just that technique. It was a bit rushed, but the effect worked rather well.

It’s possible, also be sure to set the camera in ortho mode to get real 2D

I think I figured out how to load 2 planes and make the top one an aplha channel and keep my drawing visable and the bg translusent :slight_smile: hehe i’m excited. thank you for the replies. I was also wondering If I load in a avi colud i do the same?

say its an avi of a character on a bg it would export the bg either black or white… so could i some how make that color into an alpha in blender?

could i keyframe the avi? SOme place i read something about importing sequesces is that a better method?

SOrry for all the newbie questions :stuck_out_tongue: THanks

You can load avi’s as textures to a plane, and you can rig the plane for animation. So all of that is possible. As for making things transparent with that, I haven’t tried, but you could look into using the “Calc Alpha” button rather than the “Use Alpha” button in your TextureButtons when you load the avi.