Using Different Scenes.

Hello all,

I’ve used Blender as a modeling tool for a while, but I’m new to the Blender Game Engine. I was wondering if someone could answer a couple questions for me:

1. I’ve seen other projects where the designers have seperate .exe files for each level\scene, why is this so?

2. If you’re designing a fairly large game, would it be a good idea to use different scenes for separate levels? Is everything loaded when Blender starts, or do they load up seperatly upon loading each new scene?

this is a great question, I am going to be watching this thread…

my biggest problem is shareing data between scenes, like scores, lives,inventory, Etc…

1. I’ve seen other projects where the designers have seperate .exe files for each level\scene, why is this so?

I guess that’s up to you. I think it’s mainly used as one more division so things don’t get out of hand. Even with scenes, the scripts and actions are all kept in a common location and it can get a little messy if the game is pretty complicated.

1. If you’re designing a fairly large game, would it be a good idea to use different scenes for separate levels?

Yes. That’s probably one of the most common uses. You can also use overlay scenes which come in handy for text, inventory, huds, or guns in 1st person shooters, and there are background scenes, which get drawn last, so they are a way to reuse data without additional programming. It’s really easy to use one so experiment. All you need is a sensor, an “and” controller and a scene actuator with another scene already made.

Hey fireside, thank’s for the reply! I like the various uses of Scenes, I’ll definitely look more into all of the different types that are available, thanks.

I think it’s mainly used as one more division so things don’t get out of hand. Even with scenes, the scripts and actions are all kept in a common location and it can get a little messy if the game is pretty complicated.