Using Render Layers as Passes

Hey,

Is there a way to use selected layers and make Blender do the render Layers as passes
such to use in the compositing nodes?

For example
Nebula Layer
ooxoo ooooo
ooooo ooooo

Star Layer
oooox ooooo
ooooo ooooo

Selecting which corresponds to the Nebula and Star Layer to render image:
ooxox ooooo
ooooo ooooo

Would make Blender render full scene with the specific area and elements for the each render layer. Just to isolate things to passes for each render layer. I don’t think it would be a hard function to implement and can be simple button to turn this type of rendering off and on. I’m not a programmer thats why I asked.

Just a thought…

Vivienne

I think you can do what you want with scenes. Just think of a scene as a pass. Then in the compositor you can combine them (in the master/final scene) in any order you like to produce a final output. You can even link objects and cameras between scenes if you need synchronized elements between passes.

But Render Layers themselves are quite powerful and can do much of what you need. The reason to use another scene might be if you wanted to render some kind of pass/element at a different size or aspect ratio from the main comp then integrate that output back into the Node network to control some other part of compositing.

For instance, you could make a super wide nebula background scene with an animated Transform node to make the background pan in a much smaller final composite.

Yeah, multiple Scenes is a good way to create very disparate effects methods and combine them in the Compositor. Example: I’ve used the Main Scene for the perspective camera and model work, and an auxiliary Scene for multiplane animation using 2D imagery to create mock parallax, animation-stand style, with an orthographic camera. The blend of the two treatments of imagery was completely seamless.

I will try the method on a animation. Thanks.