Using Victoria 4.2 - why so fugly?

Okay, so I’m very new to Blender and to 3D modelling in general. I would like to render Victoria in Blender for a psychology experiment I’m running. I also need to be able to scale down her poly-count. So, my first stab at doing this involved exporting her from Daz Studio as a Generic Collada file, and importing her into Blender 2.54. This is my result:

It sure is ugly compared to Daz Studio. I realize my lighting is pretty sub-standard right now, but that’s not my concern. I’m concerned with the model itself which looks to have some issues. There’s something definitely wrong with her eyes, both with the lashes and the eyeball itself. So my question is, why is this my result? Am I doing something wrong with the rendering process? Or the export/import process?

Any pointers would be much appreciated. :wink:

Not sure about the eyeball, but you are missing an alpha map on the lashes.

Best wishes,
Matthew

Hmm. Okay, from what I’ve gathered with some searching, this means that ZTrans is probably off and Alpha is probably not set to 0? I looked, and this was the case. It is now on, and Alpha is set to 0:

However, I still get the same result when rendering. I must be missing something. :confused:

The specular is way too high, bring that down and she will look alot less sweaty, regarding the transparancy, I still struggle getting that to work as I would expect, is the texture for the eye lashes also effecting the alpha? (what do you have set in the texture panel?)

I dropped the specular on SkinFace down to 0.1 and she does look a lot less glossy and plastic now:

http://gyazo.com/849ea13d75a48556a5b0588468f93b27.png

That’s definitely an improvement, thanks.

Also, this is what I have set in the Texture panel.