UV Editor Blues, and feture suggestions

First of all, these forums could perhaps use a new category: Bug reports and Feature Suggestions, if I may suggest. I’ve looked for such in Blender’s website and couldn’t find. Well, once I knew about a wiki for feature suggestions and got editing rights and managed to file a feature suggestion; but that was like 2 years ago; don’t know if that wiki exists anymore; or where would it be.

Also, I don’t understand why the automatic logoff time is so short; it seems impossible to ever write a post and not face up a new login screen when trying to submit. And after logging in one faces yet another login screen, ad infinitum. I’ve pointed this out before. I’m a forum admin myself, and I know it’s trivial to change the log-in time-out.

The fact notwithstanding that the UV Editor has been getting better over the years, it still has much to be desired. It may be good enough for monkeys and cows, but any serious UV unwrapping of like mechanical or architectural stuff is a nightmare. Then again, it’s quite probable that there are features in the current interface that I don’t know about.

I’m trying to unwrap a ruler. Yeah, a model of a wooden ruler with millimeter marks and stuff. I subdivided the mesh to make it easier to just bake the texture, so I have two loop cuts per millimeter, and lengthwise loop cuts also 0.5 mm wide to help me make shorterst marks for millimeters, medium for 5mm intervals, and 3-quad long marks for centimeters. I assigned materials as such.

http://wcjunction.com/temp_images/toad/ruler_ship.jpg

(Well, the millimeters are actually meters; --long story, this is a “ruler ship” to fly in space and measure the lengths of other ships, for Vegastrike developers. That’s the cockpit, at the front.)