UV map painting

(Ted Nugent) #1

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to Blender (a few days) and am loving it. You really have to appreciate the support that flows from an open-source community… I’ve tried to learn Maya twice in the past and got stymied both times.

Anyhow… I’m hoping someone can point me to some tut’s on UV map painting. I’m surprised at how difficult it is. I’ll be using photoshop to paint my maps, and I’d just like to get any general tips / techniques.

Thanks in advance,

“The Nuge”

(TRexian) #2

http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=54620&highlight=

LOTS and LOTS of pics in that. If it isn’t exactly what you’re looking for, let me know.

(Love your music.) :wink: :slight_smile:

(Gmanx) #3

Try Greybeards intro to uv mapping here:

http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Model_Material_Light.397.0.html

That’ll get you familiar with the tools. As for painting the maps, try a site like polycount:

http://www.planetquake.com/polycount/

There’s lots of tuts and info on painting maps there.

(Ted Nugent) #4

Thanks for the replies, folks.

I looked through those sights and couldn’t find quite what I’m looking for.

I’ve found plenty of info on uv unwrapping and mapping for Blender, and I’m okay with that stuff.

Where I’d like some more info is the process of painting the generated uv layouts in an external application (in my case, Photoshop). I’m just wondering about what techniques people use, etc.