UV unwrap problem

Hi all,

let me begin im pretty new with blender. At least with really using it hardcore. I have seen tons of tutorials and tried some stuff once in a while. I do know pretty much all of the basics but i never really model that much, im a graphic design and dont really use 3d in my work. Only once in a while to render some work ive done in photorealism.

Often i run into problems when using unwrapping. For instance i downloaded this model of a tree yesterday, no texture came a long so i tried mapping it my self. The basic mapping with which the model came along did seem right to me. Perhaps something went wrong with the import cause i see this often with imported obj files. When i select the mesh and check the UV editor, the mapping seems some kind of basic squared mapping. Some times it’s okay using this, for vehicles etc, where the material doesnt really need UVmapping applied. But some as in this tree example i want to adjust it.

In the attached screen shot you see different setups i tried. The first one is how it looked when i imported the obj, some parts look good and some are really stretched. I tried to adjust everything also with connected geometry to get a better result, eventually i was getting better but it takes quite awhile to all the this stuff manually.

Than i tried unwrapping the model with a seam applied, but i always get these weird looking shapes. Tried all the tricks i know which could make it a little bit better. i could try to make the seam go away by texture paint over it, but i want to make use of the textures which are ready for use.

I also tried cylindrical mapping, i never get this thing to work properly. When i try it on a new added cylindre it works but in the example of this tree stem it looks as if the seam isnt cut. It looks more like it unwraps from view.