V-ray 3Ds max to Cycles

Hi guys,
I’m new to blender,
I used to do architecture scene in 3ds max using assets created by Evermotion, and all the models comes with Vray materials,
Is there a way to convert Vray materials to Cycles?

Have a look at this:

1 Like

I have same problem. I have huge 3ds max vray model/material archive. Our studio try to use these models in blender. But we cant found correct way to converter 3dsmax vray to blender. Models are good but materials are not correct. Do you know any workflow to converting? We try maxtoblender addon, bmax addon. fbx exporting etc. no proper solution yet.

So the MaxToBlender addon does not work despite them saying that it does?
That’s unfortunate.

I just convert Vray materials to Standard materials in Max and then export the scene like fbx.
The materials need tweaking but at least this way maps are connected properly. (Unless there are some special maps connected directly to the slot, like color correct). But you are correct, there is no proper solution which would convert correctly Vray materials to Cycles materials.

Omer,

Currently their is no converter for archviz production type V-ray 3dmax scenes to Blender. I did develop my own script.

Start with MAXtoBlender the export part from 3dsmax works fine. It will create file “3dm2b.xml” with a list of all the materials, cameras, lights, and other of your scene. .

The importer script from MAXtoBlender that use “3dm2b.xml” to import into Blender it has a lot of problems I found a least 30 issues from minor to mayor.

I basically rewrote all the mayor parts of this script. This is not an easy task to handle properly many of the VRay production features into Blender and Cycles. Lights has to handle IES, spot, area, point, and HDRI and power intensity is very different, Materials in VRay have many important difference compare to Cycles from diffuse, metallic, reflection, refraction, opacity and PBR. Their also cameras, environment and FBX importer issues.