Verse

Hi Guys, just a question to from a guy that’s been using Blender for 10 months. Verse. It has it’s own page on Blender.org but no tutorials! I am no coder. But If anyone could direct me on how to use it I’d be glad. But the project appears kind of Dead. :frowning: Nothing to report.

It is kind of dead. Nobody has worked on it for quite some time. They guy who was heading it up, was doing it as part of a 2 or 3 year R&D project that had funding from somewhere.

Aside from blender, nobody else really supports it. You can compile a plugin to get blender and gimp to hook up. But it is buggy.

You have to start up a master server, and then people can connect to it and share data. Right now only mesh is supported. Blender could share images with other instances of blender (it can with gimp) but there is no interface for it.

Sharing mesh data works though.

There is a howto here: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BlenderDev/VerseIntegrationToBlenderUserDoc

The only difference is that verse has it’s own display now in the outliner.

The gimp plugin is here: http://users.pandora.be/blendix/verse/

It would be nice if blender took the idea, and made their own version where you actually interact in the same 3d space instead of just pushing mesh data back and forth.

Jiri and I are still working on Verse. Jiri works on adding PAM and DTLS support and I’m in the progress of creating a 100% C# implementation of the specs. It is true that otherwise Verse development is pretty minimal if not going on at all. I’d love to put more time in this, but I’m still strapped for time. For instance, it would be great to integrate my Verse Chat patch into blender one day…

About how to use it: connect to a verse server and in the outliner you’ll have verse sessions and a server list (if you’re connected to a master server - which is unlikely, unless you run one yourself).

If I get the time this week, I’ll see about writing a bit more on this. Keep nudging me!

/Nathan