Vertex normal editor blender 2.8

I’m about to make the change from Maya to Blender 2.8, but right now there is only one thing ( okay, two, UV-Editor needs more tools, but it is doable ) and that is full control of normals. I work in the game industry and we need to tweak the normals all the time, force them in a certain direction. I want to be able to select a face, copy its normal and force another face normals to the same. Sometimes I want to average out some faces and etc.

In Maya there is an old but truly amazing tool, MigNormalTools, and it gives me all the control I need. So right now I am stuck between Maya and Blender 2.8, but damn I want to swap software…

Anyone that knows any addons, or if there is some dev working on this?

3 Likes

Forcing normals:

There was a google summer of code in 2017 about developing tools for normals editing.
Actually, they are available in 2.8.
You have to enable autosmooth option into Normals panel of Mesh properties.
Then, you will have access to all these tools to edit custom normals that are grouped under Mesh menu > Normals.
There are also 2 modifiers to change normals in object mode : Normal Edit and Weighted Normal.

Hi Jernst, welcome to Blender!

In Blender 2.8 a lot is already possible with inbuilt tools and our so-called custom normals or vertex-per-face normals. You have to activate them in properties, object data tab: turn on auto smooth (read the tooltip).

You can visualize them in the overlay dropdown in the top-right of the 3d view. At the end of the dropdown, under normals, click on the middle one. In the standard theme they are pinkish.

Then switch to face select mode (top left in 3d view) and check the functions in the mesh menu under normals, like: Set From Faces, Rotate Normal, Point normals to target, and so on. Note any hints appearing in the top of the 3D view for options of activated functions.