Vertical header?

Hi

I know there is so much debate about Blender’s UI. As I am a student and don’t have a choice, I’m happy to learn Blender as it is.

Instead of getting into a heated general argument, I want to ask one thing, where is the vertical header? Blender’s UI is meant to be “non-overlapping” but if you make a thin vertical panel for example, the header stays horizontal so in the buttons window for example, the render panel icon goes off the edge. Hardly “non-overlapping”.

I have a similar problem with accessing the layer buttons if I have vertically split the screen with a window on the left. Of course, I use the keyboard to access layers but it still looks rather ugly.

Naturally, you could get rid of the header and access the various panels with the F keys (for the buttons window anyway) but for the 3D view, the shortcuts aren’t all that obvious (though I know most of them by now).

The new “maximise window” shortcut is useful (Shift + Space) but honestly, I would rather not have parts of the interface overlapping in the first place.

I think the headers should have an option to be displayed vertically and to scale so as to have all the icons visible on them at all times. Other than that, I love splitting windows and customising the UI.

Thank you,

Koba

P.S> I did a search to see if this had been brought up before but it didn’t look like it has.

It’s been brought up on the blender.org forums a few times.

It is an important addition to gui, so I hope it happens soon.

I can’t imagine it would be difficult to implement (just reworking whats already there and adding the mechanism to select between vertical/horizontal), but I expect quite a lot of code would have to be reworked as most controls used in the headers would need to be modified to draw/interact in a rotated orientation.