Very new, a couple questions

Excuse me for asking what is probably obvious, but for the most part I am very new at this. The last 3D software I used way Raydream 5 quite a few years ago. I tried this in a newbie forum, but received no responses.

I want to use Blender to add a few elements to a Super8 film project that is 25 years old. I have the film already transferred to an AVI file for editing.

What I hope to do is add a UFO to a couple of scenes such as people looking up in the sky, travelling through space, etc… Not very complex although I would like to have a fairly decent UFO model.

There is no doubt that Blender could handle the UFO. My question here is what kind of learning curve is required to build a simple model? I’m looking at the standard rotating disc around a centre, some lights on the edge, perhaps a dome. I’d also want to introduce motion blur so it appears to be more real instead of a stop motion model.

The second question is in regards to taking this model and getting it in the film. I assume it can be rendered with a transparent background so it could be inserted as a video layer in the editor? Is this a safe assumption?

Now, keep in mind I am not looking to spend months building and animating a model nor am I looking at some kind of feature film quality. Perhaps there is a better idea outside of 3D modeling. If someone can give me the scoop on this software and/or point me in a different direction to save me many hours of aggrevation I would appreciate it.

Oh, this would need to work on a Vista machine. I believe I have enough power under the hood to handle the software without waiting days to render.

Thanks in advance.

Bart