VR and Architecture Design

Hi everyone,

Right now I’m trying to design my future home and it’s kind of tough to get a sense of scale/size. I wonder if anyone is using a VR headset for architectural design, would be help with the sense of scale? I’m strongly thinking about the Valve Index for this.

I think this VR stuff is overblown. Yes you can walk into it and experience it differently but also with its own flaws.

Nice to have as a visual - not so sure about usefulness as a design tool

I’m an architect, and can tell you that VR and AR tools are being used throughout the industry at an ever-increasing rate, both in presentations to clients and as an internal design tool. Definitely worth considering if you’re planning a major project like that.
That being said, I’d recommend you think about using the basic low-tech method of drawing things out on paper, at least in initial stages - it’s a lot faster than trying to model things in 3D and allows you to hash out more ideas easily. Try to draw things at a fixed scale, so your drawings have a similar feel to them, which will let you quickly get a feel for how the spaces will work (I usually sketch things at about 1:100 scale (1’-0"=1/8" if you’re in the backwards part of the world). There are various references you could use in terms of the space you need for particular things, but they’re mostly printed (Neufert, Architectural Graphic Standards, etc. - not cheap, but worth getting if you’re serious about it). I haven’t been able to locate a really good guide online. Maybe someone else can help you with that.

1 Like

Maybe my initial wording was to harsh.

I have the VR equipment and also teach it. For experiencing a space it is pretty nice.
I think some people remember the AR VR stuff from Iron man and want to design this way.
I find for precision work this is rather difficult with what we have at the moment.

Aka I find the tech is not there yet to be a true replacement for modeling with mouse and keyboard.