Wacom Graphire 6X8 vs. Medion 9X12

Hey everyone,

Been reading up on Tablets and I was wondering what I should go for?

I hear the Wacom Graphire4 6"X8" pad is good and was recommended by one of my friends that works for EA Games and a number of other artists.

I also am looking into a Medion 9"X12".

Any recommendations and/or info on what I should be looking for?

I am primarily a self-taught 3D artist that works with Blender and Maya but I would like to improve my texturing skills. I’ve been using nothing but Gimp for many years and it just isn’t cutting it for me.

Wacom Graphire and Wacom Intuos worked simply great for me in my last 4 jobs. I have worked in four game companies and many design ones before, and allways rely on Wacom tablets for it’s great sensivity and the natural feel.

I do all tasks in a game company, so my everyday since years is : pixel art, illustration, textures, GUI drawing ( in what is 2d,not counting in my 3d tasks, which I do a lot, but there I use just mouse and keyboard) . For all Wacom performs really well, yet I have much better feeling with traditional pencils, oils, watercolors, etc. But is what i have seen closer to natural tools. I do all this work with no time for it, so is good also for speed matters.

I have seen some mates at my jobs use Painter 7 and their passion for it; I prefer plain Adobe Photoshop, but that’s just me.

I’d recommend if you want it for over pressured deadlines use mainly photoshop, but the natural feeling you can find it different and very good in many ways with these tools :

• Art Rage (free)
  • Pixia (free)
  • Open Canvas (GREAT, close or equivalent to Painter feel) There is a free OC beta floating on the net, even a translate to english one. I recommend it. Of course, the comercial is better.
  • Painter. AT least Painter 7 was great. Dunno today’s version.
  • Photoshop. Imho the way to go in game companies, for me is a fact.