Wacom's new product

Hello people.
First of all, I hope placing this in news and discussion is ok. It should be, IMO.

I was just visiting

I have access @school to an Intuos3 9x12, and I must say, it’s pretty nice. And I’m dreaming about having one of my own.

Now I just noticed that wacom has a new product out (or as far as I know it’s new) called bamboo.

http://www.wacom.com/bambootablet/bamboo.cfm

Here’s a comparison table:
http://www.wacom.com/bambootablet/compare.cfm

It’s only $69, so the question is: if I’m a fairly serious artist but I have a low budget (sound familiar?), do you think I’ll be disappointed with a Bamboo tablet? Does anybody have one? Or does anybody have a lot of experience with different tablets who can look at that table and get a pretty good idea if it’s worth it?
Because it’s waaaay cheaper. But maybe I’d be better off saving up for a while and forking out the cash for an intuos.

The Bamboo isn’t meant for digital artists, as you can see on the general description page. I don’t see how this could be useful to anyone that’s looking to do anything but basic tasks. Seriously, the feature list is limited.

“Sign your name!”

“Make sketches and doodles!”

I would save up for an Intuos if I were you.

yes, intuos is very nice, stay away from Graphire or Bamboo if you can.

Intuos has more pressure sensitivity, plus a tilt. Makes Zbrush almost as much fun as sex :smiley:

hmm, personally, i’ve never used the tilt feature. it feels pretty unnatural to me.

The Bamboo has more features than my Graphire 1, on which I’ve done everything for XTIN Project (still with no serious plans to upgrade). It will be more than enough to paint stuff like this -

http://www.extinctionlevelevent.com/wordpress_ele/wp-content/thumb-cache/d77b310422c34b85ed6927bce25235c2.jpg

and do textures like these:

http://www.extinctionlevelevent.com/wordpress_ele/wp-content/thumb-cache/d10b3e30f0e79042b8c890987140907f.png