Walkcycle workflow question

I am rather new to the whole world of Actions and the NLA editor, but I have now reached the production phase in my short (see wip here) and I wanted to start in the correct direction using a proper workflow.

One question which I came accros is the following:
Lets assume I have a walkcycle for my character and I use the NLA editor with its cyclic option and the modifier system to layout the path the character is going in a shot.
Whats necessary in the shot is of course to refine the animation with all sorts of variation, responding to the environment etc.

Doing this with multiple blended actions will work partially (I think) but is not a final solution.
What I would find very cool, if there was a way to ‘bake’ the NLA strip back to a new action and do the refinements on this newly created action.
The other way would be to do the whole walking by hand, which seems quite a tedious and repetitive task.

Is there any good workflow on how to tackle this task of doing a longer walk with refinements.

Thanks for your help.

Loramel,

to be honest, I have never been a devotee of the walk cycle, because unless you have a lot of very simple walking about to do, and are very short of time, so you have no option, you are better off to just animate the walk directly.