Wall explosion camera tracking

After months (on and off) of experimenting and trial and error I’ve finally found a workflow to match CGI with real world footage. I put this video together roughly just as a proof of concept since I’m not very good at compositing.

http://www.vimeo.com/8262340

Please note that this footage were not shot with this in mind hence the messy apartment and my gf and baby :stuck_out_tongue:

Real world footage shot on Canon EOS 500D
3d and rendering: Blender 3d 2.49
Compsiting: After effects CS3

Regards,
ezpRado

how did you do that?:confused:

Pretty good!!

awesome! What motion tracker did you use?

@ Bionicle: I remodeled most of the geometry in the real world scene at the frame the explosion happens. Then I UV project textures from the footage to the 3d geometry. Then i used the Fracture script to “split” the geometry into seperate meshes and apply rigid body physics, then I crash a object through the wall while recording game engine physics to ipo.

@ Axelh92: It’s a couple of months since I did the tracking so I don’t really remember :stuck_out_tongue: But it was either PfHoe Pro or Icarus.

Wow, that is great.

where is this so called “Fracture” script you are talking about?

i went through the scripts in Blender and i couldnt find it, and on the blender.org site. Where can i get this script?

Sorry, I should’ve mentioned; http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=145074&highlight=fracture+script

I didn’t quite know how to use this script so I just opened the .Blend, saved the Fractureme3d script as a text file which I opened in text editor within my scene and ran it with the meshes selected

Regards,
ezpRado

That’s really realistic :D,but how did you capture the image behind the wall?

@TheCroc: I took several images with a still image camera and stitched them to a panorama image and applied it to a plane in the background.