wanting local training

Very new to the blender community and excited to learn but stuck. I am willing to pay for lessons until i get how to navigate through all of the commands just a little lost and dont know where to begin. Ive looked into schooling but nobody in ohio offers it here in the schools. I’m in Lakewood, Ohio. I have the blender for dummies book Ive read some of the book and ive watched some tutorials. If anyone could take me step by step that would be great because this is a great opportunity to put my imagination to use. My goal is to make a movie for my daughter. Please Help!

Thank you in advance
Sincerly, Jon

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Jobs > Paid Work”

I have 5 years experience in Blender so I think I could teach you :slight_smile:

Have you tried the online course at Lynda.com?
They’re not free but the one on Blender Essential is quite nice (I’m using it to teach myself blender atm).

I agree with what everyone else has mentioned. Free tutorials all over the place out there for blender. Try to learn the interface first, then start to learn modelling. The tutorials I learned from haven’t been updated, so they would be of no help. Try looking for beginner tutorials at Blender Cookie plenty of free stuff there that should get you started.

Now let’s be honest here, if you can’t pick up some of the basics from online/free tutorials, then maybe 3d cgi isn’t for you. Not that it’s a bad thing, but some people have talents that other’s don’t. I spent 2-3 years taking guitar lessons, only to learn that audio isn’t my thing. I knew how to play a guitar and could play anything as long as someone showed my how, or sheet music/tableture, but I couldn’t listen to the radio and pick up a guitar and play what I heard, like really talented musicians do. It wasn’t my thing, but I can draw a better picture than any of those guitar players can…