Wave modifier with textures and documentation ...

Hi folks … I’m pretty much a newbie here but having great fun playing around. I sat down last night and studied on the Wave modifier … great. I see that from Blender 2.44 onwards there is now an option to associate a texture with the Wave Modifier … se ethe 2.44 release notes here:
http://www.blender.org/development/release-logs/blender-244/new-modifiers/
At that page I found the following:

Furthermore, you can control the Wave effect to some extent using a texture.

Ok … great … but … what troubles me is that I can’t find any obvious additional information beyond this one-liner. I checked the Wiki but the page pre-dates this addition. If I personally knew the details, I’d have a go at updating the Wiki myself …
So … here comes the question:
Given a one liner such as that above … how should I go about learning “more” about this new function given that the release notes are light and the Wiki info is missing? Would I have to trawl the source of Blender itself and try and reverse engineer what it does or simply “experiment” to guess the answer?
Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to be mean or be “picky” … I personally work for one of the huge hardware/software companies. I used to be a developer there and I hated writing docs. Now I am in sales support and I get mad when the docs of the product I am trying to sell don’t describe in anywhere near enough detail how to use the product. When I talk to developers I simply ask them:

1. How much time did you spend working on your feature area?
  2. Are you proud of your work?
  3. Does it make you happy when people use it?

and then I say …

Do you realize that no-one is using it to its full extent because they don’t know how? …