Way to have Cycles not render empty space

I could not find any reference to this in the forums. When I render out my scene in Cycles, with all objects on their own render layers, Blender wastes a lot of time and resources rendering areas where there is nothing, all transparency. Is there a way to tell Blender and Cycles not to render this empty transparent area and only render the objects that are visible on their individual layers?

At the moment there is no such Option for Cycles, it’s just part of the raytracing algorithm. There would have to be a preprocessing step to determine empty parts of the image and that’s one thing Cycles wants to avoid at all costs for now. One way to avoid too many Calculations on empty parts of the image is to use the non-progressive Iterator with a low Amount of AA Samples, so empty areas will get only that many Samples. Another way is rendering parts of the image with border rendering and piece them together in postproduction.

I’m no programmer, but it seems like Blender could determine where said object/objects are and create 2d bounding boxes that would then dictate where the render focuses on - sort of an automatic border rendering. I can’t border render right now because I am rendering hair using particle systems and I find when I use border rendering it messes up my hair in the file permanently. Thanks for the reply!

How do you detect it waste time on that areas as you not programmer? Transparency or not, it is bounce, and must be calculated. Add DoF to it, motion blur.

In camera mode (numpad 0); shift-b to camera-select; then select the area of the camera view you want to render. It will show with a red-dotted square. Do the same, but select the whole camera area to return to full section. Or there is a checkbox/button to click somewhere - I forget where as I find it easier to use the short-cut.

Note: if you are rendering multiple layers, it will do the same for all layers selected.