Ways of modelling a game asset for Unity or Unreal Engine

Hi there,

I am new to Blender and want to use it for creating game assets for Unity or Unreal (I am not sure now which engine I like more).

I have some principle questions about creating such assets which have multiple identical parts. Let’s say I want to create a cage. So the cage consists of the following parts:

• Bottom Frame
  • Bottom plate
  • Four wall grids, which for themselves consists from several cylindrical bars
  • Top Frame which is identical to bottom frame
  • Bars of the top frame which are like the bars from the side wall bars, but maybe with another length

So if the cage is big there are much identical bars. Coming more from a CAD world, I would create one bar and use several instances of it in the design. So if I alter one bar all other instances are also changed. Also I woul UV map only one bar.
But I don’t know if a game engine handle such things. So the question is:

Should I create all the bars one by one and create one big geometry from it, and then UV map the whole thing, or can I use references to one bar and UV map all the components one by one?

I hope I have made my question clear enough ? It’s a bit complicated for me, since I am no english native speaker, I am German, so if you like to answer in German thats ok, too. :slight_smile:

Thorsten

You’ll have to merge all copy-pasted details into single mesh, as *.fbx exporter (most commonly used for game assets) doesnt support instancing of any kind. However, you absolutely can UV unwrap only single bar, before making copies. Simply put, UV coordinates are stored in the mesh vertices, and “survive” copying or editing the mesh. If you are OK with texture repetition, it will save your the space on your texture sheet

1 Like