Ways to "trigger" actions besides NLA

I’m new to actions/drivers/nla so forgive the newbie question. I understand how to create actions and push them down to the NLA. But what I really am wanting to do is have a driver that controls the action that I’ve baked to an f-curve/sound.

So basically, I’ve figured out how to make an empty, animate it’s movement on one axis, and then use that as a driver in a var to control the position of a different object (and multiply the var to make the movement more exaggerated). But what I really want to be able to do is somehow bake a sound/f-curve to my empty, and then use that to trigger an action start, instead of just altering the position of the target object. Hope that makes sense, is it possible? Basically I’m trying to figure out how to easily trigger the start of an action based on a sound file… Thanks!

Hey, There is a ‘Speaker’ object in blender - maybe that would work. Dig around on clockmenders site, he does alot with sound

1 Like

Thanks for that, perfect. I had seen this a long time ago, but didn’t know it had been updated past 2.49 now, so yay!

Using Animation Nodes (in 2.79) you can bake sound files to drive animations, examples on my website. I have also developed additional nodes to animate from MIDI files, again, examples on my website, let me know a bit more about what you want to do and I can help you!

There are new sound node for 2.8, but I don’t think they are stable/included in a source code release yet. Which Blender are you using?

Cheers, Clock.

PS. Thanks @ajcdfin for the mention!

1 Like