Webbing!

(Nayman) #1

Hmmm, this is sort of a question, but because it would be treading new ground, i figured its more of a discussion than a question…

What would the best way top go about webbing be for a spiderman movie? webbing to shoot out of a wrist. I cant figure out how to do a sillystring like substance firing in a line… anny suggestions? maybe dynamica would incorperate somthing like that?

(harkyman) #2

It would seem that metaballs, using the tube forms coupled to standard ball shapes (or, if you have the proc. power, simple balls in a particle system) would be a possibility for modelling the webbing as it appears in many of the comics. Haven’t seen the movie yet, though, so I can’t give you any hints on that.

(S68) #3

Metaballs are so costly, computationally speaking…

what about a subsurfed mesh animating single vertices?

Stefano

(BgDM) #4

I am no animation expert, (as of yet anyway :wink: , so anyone out there correct me if I am wrong. Can you not do as S68 said and also add an alpha texture so that it looks more like a web and then turn on/off with ipo’s?

Man I need a 2.0 guide. Although, I am sure, no animation stuff is in there :frowning:

BgDM

(Nayman) #5

I wasa thinking that maybe the build function could be useful

anyone know how to use it so it builds in an order, and not random

(stephen2002) #6

the only way to have builds not be random is to press x-sort in the edit buttons. Hash will randomize the verts. This works for particle systems, but I have not actually tested it on a build effect.

(wewa_juicyb) #7

How about combining a 1-axis scaling or a moving alpha map (use “glob” coordinates)? Or you could use a Lattice. Yes a Latticle is probably the best.
Adues,
WeWa

(Nayman) #8

Hmmm, keeep em coming

maybe we should all try it out and write tutorial on it![/list]

(SKPjason) #9