Weight paint problem

Hi. I’m rather new in weight painting. Why is every painted vertex behaving like it has 100% of influence?

A vertex needs to be assigned to two or more bones or it will move 100% with the bone it is assigned too, regardless of its weight.

So, if the vertex only has weight for a single bone, it does not matter if that weight is 1.00 or .001, it will move like it is weighted 100% (1.00).

To fix the issue, add a small amount of weight from a neighboring bone. Also, use Auto normalize so all weights on a vertex equals 1.00.

If you do not normalize the weights, you could, in theory, have a vertex assigned to 100 bones with a weight of 1.00. In weight paint mode you would think it has 100% influence from one of the 100 selected bones because the color is red, but in fact it only has .01 weight from that single bone and .01 weights from 99 other bones. Blender will normalize the weight internally, but it will look red in the viewport, giving you a false sense of the true weight value and the effect of those weights.

I know that sounds like a bunch of mumbo jumbo, but there it is…

Auto Normalize your weights and assign at least a little weight from neighboring bones.

Good luck!

Thanks, i get it, but when i check “auto normalize” my brush isn’t soft anymore. Can i fix it somehow?

I’m not sure. Check the Options tab and look for Unified settings. There should be options for Size, Strength and Weight. This should keep the setting from one brush to the next. I’m not sure why/if Auto Normalize would change the setting of a brush.

Are you sure you did not just switch brushes?

Here’s my video showing the problem:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avYcwOlAt6Q

I did assign arm’s vertex to the forearm with 0.054 of intensity with no result. Were you typing about this?:

I think in your situation, you should parent with automatic weights and refine the weights from there. It will be easier until you get the knack of weighting.