Well I can't just call him MAAaaannn . . . (facial update)

So I shall call him Albert. This is my first attempt at a full character. I wanted a sort of styalized, almost cartoonish look. Any advice would be awesome.

http://www.maj.com/gallery/LGM/threedimensions/front.jpg
http://www.maj.com/gallery/LGM/threedimensions/back.jpg
http://www.maj.com/gallery/LGM/threedimensions/side.jpg
http://www.maj.com/gallery/LGM/threedimensions/head.jpg

I have a specific question. When I hit set smooth, sometimes a seam appears. (Like at his shoulder, but more obviously in his hand.)

http://www.maj.com/gallery/LGM/threedimensions/handcircled.jpg

How can I fix this?

Thanks,

LGM

For one thing, you have a really bad pole there. For the rest, looks like you’ll have to recalculate normals (CTRL-N)

Wow. Recalculating normals took care of it all. Except for the wrist. Forgive my ignorance, but what is a pole?

it looks like the wrist and hand arent connected, try using remove doubles. Do you have any idea of where this will be going? like an animation? or a scene? keep it up :slight_smile:

Forgive my ignorance, but what is a pole?

I’m pretty sure that he means you have one point with many many edges radiating from it.

To sort the hand out, go into edit mode, select all verts with A and press ctrl+n then click recalc normals outside.

Also, the face could do with some tweaking, he looks like a bit of a spakka at the moment.
Take a look at some of your favourite ladies (or mens) faces to see where all the bits and bobs fit.

Well, yeah, that was part of it. I made this guy is seperate pieces, then put them all together. I forgot to delete the faces on the wrist before joining the hand! That and the edges made that wierd line. Thanks.

Yes, this is going to be my base character. I have a definite plan for a short animation. But I plan to build most of my characters off of this guy.

Thanks for all the advice. I’ll post another pic when I’ve fixed his face up a bit.

LGM