What AI helper should Blender get next?

Hey.

I was a 3D guy over 6 years ago and Blender was my favorite. Today I’m a programmer interested in AI (actually, ML) solutions. I saw Andrews youtube video about where AI is going in 3D software and I must say it’s really interesting. I’ve also seen some Autodesk stuff and different denoisers. But everything I see makes me think that I really don’t know the industry very well anymore.

So I ask you - what AI plugin would Blender benefit from today? Great would be something more simple to start from, but I’ll take any tips at all. I know Blender and I’ve done a few ML projects, perhaps I (and my team) can build something cool that would actually benefit Blender.

2 Likes

Couple things come to mind

• Automating bone placements and setting up animatable rigs.

• Fixing deformation issues in characters

• Setting up automated camera animations

• Setting up believable lighting scenarios

• Micro detail generation for surfaces

• Creating smart surface shaders

• Reflowing polygons based on surface properties, like detail control

4 Likes

UV unwrapping cries out for attention… Some different methods such as organising the layouts based on physical space, the relations of triangles based on neighbouring objects. The ability to unwrap a selection of faces around others that have already been unwrapped and will not change.

3 Likes

AI could be useful for motion capture stuff.

If you do from hand, you set your trackers and you have to set a driver / constraint to a bunch of (tracker controlled) empties. So, its much hand tweaking. AI could do better job here, I guess.
There is an idea for an AI approach …

• Rigged model shows basic expressions (targets)
  • Now, a person (with trackers) has to mimic expressions with his own body. Tracker-Empties positions are used as training input.

… not sure it will work like that. But I would be glad for some exchanges of thoughts.

1 Like