What do amateur animators do with their EXR output files?

I’ve just rendered an animation that is roughly 15 minutes long - 25000 frames with each frame being a 32-bit EXR image at 1920 x 1080 resolution. I’m just an amateur running Blender on my old desktop computer, and it took about a week to render those frames. After converting the frames to a perceptually lossless MP4 video in the VSE, I’m left with over 500 GiB of EXR files. I’ve seen posts where Blender animators talk about making much longer videos, so presumably the rendering process for those could produce terabytes of output files.

While I have several old hard drives I can use as backup, their reliability may be questionable, so I’m planning to simply delete the EXR files.

I’m curious about what other people do. Do you find some way to store the render output frames, or delete them?

Find an inexpensive unlimited back up service.

I use Open Drive. And it has an app that you can Dl to your computer to simply copy files to.

When you consider the cost of drive space, a monthly service pays for itself when you go through a lot of data.

You may consider to save your EXRs with DWAA compression: it’s unbelievably light, more than the lossless mp4, which also loses 32bit information. Zip everything and forget it somewhere

as for online backup solutions, there’s also Mega which offers 50GB and an app to manage them

Weren’t the 50Gig only for a limited time and you had to perform some PR stunt to get them? Wasn’t there in quite some time. I believe really free you only get 15.

Regardless of the place where to store the data, I use to keep my .EXR only once I’m not 100% finished on Compositing, Postprod, or any action which “needs” the raw data. Once my final animation is done and already used by client or even by me, I use to delete .EXR and save only 8 bits .png of the final exported and postproduced result.