What is "Clear user transform" supposed to do?

I have a question regarding the function “Clear user transform” for an armature in pose mode.

According to this notice in the SVN-Log:
http://lists.blender.org/pipermail/bf-blender-cvs/2007-January/009107.html
“Renamed option “Clear Pose” to “Clear User Transform” to indicate that this
differs from rest-pose. This option clears all Pose channel transforms, but
leaves Action values in pose unchanged. Means that when you do this, an
‘insert key’ won’t change the animation.”

It seems to me that this is not what the function does.

“Clear user transform” resets all bones in an armature to their rest position, that are moved manually (not with an ipo-key). All bones that are moved according to their Ipo remain in their current position.

So an ‘insert key’ will change the animation for all bones that have been moved manually.

From the SVN-Log I would have expected that all bones would be resetted to their Ipo positions.

Is it a bug, or do I not understand the function?

With kind regards, and maybe can shed some light on this.

I like to think of it more as a “last recorded position”. That is, if you move the bone manually, that’s fine, but if you don’t place a key, then the last position that the bone is definitely recorded at is the rest pose.

If you want the behavior that you’re looking for, key all of the bones at the start of your animation.

And that is exactly the point that is not working. If I key the bones, and move them manually afterwards, they are moved not to the “last recorded position”, but to the rest position.

Something else must be happening then… perhaps a missed constraint? I only say this because it works completely as expected when I use it. This is both in Blender 2.48a and a recent SVN build.

[quote=“Fweeb,post:4,topic:437902"”]

Something else must be happening then… perhaps a missed constraint? I only say this because it works completely as expected when I use it. This is both in Blender 2.48a and a recent SVN build.

[/quote]

I guess I don’t understand the meaning of this function …

See the attached file.

Use w-key->clear user transform => nothing happens.
Rotate the selected bone.001 than clear user transform => the bone is moved to it’s rest position.

I would expect bone.001 to be moved to it’s keyed position…

Attachments

ClearUserTransform.blend (33.7 KB)

Hrm… looks like perhaps you have stumbled across a bug there. I stand corrected and I certainly recommend that you file a bug report. In the meantime, the workaround would be to simply go forward or back one frame (left/right arrow) and then return to your working frame. That sets all of the bones back to their last keyed position.

I will file a bug report, I needed another confirmation that it really is not supposed to work that way.

Thank you for your help.