What is special about overrides in 2020 goals

In the Blender goals for 2020,
https://code.blender.org/2020/01/2020-blender-big-projects/

There is a topic about overrides, i wonder what this is about and how one would use it in daily work. I’m an Engineer using blender and once in a while i do presentations animation marketing stuff, and design work, and therefor i wonder if its a topic that i should keep track of or not.

So where would you use it, if it worked today?

It works, today. Blog’s article is mentioning that was introduced in 2.81.
https://wiki.blender.org/wiki/Reference/Release_Notes/2.81/Library_Overrides
So, you can create library overrides in 2.81 and will be able to do it in 2.82.

So, it is new system for proxies. First, you have to know what a proxy is.
Basically, that is a way to be able to animate an asset linked from another. New file containing animation does not store data about the asset. It just registers a link to .blend of the asset.
That is a way to reduce memory usage.

That is what old proxy system is doing. Issue is that old proxy system becomes buggy when user is trying to use multiple instances of the asset.
Library overrides system is supposed to handle that in a more solid way. It is also supposed to allow to create variations for each instance.
The main part of data of the asset is still linked data ; but the local changes that you desire, will be handled by final .blend file.

If you are fine with animations that you do (just presentation of one product at a time); you may continue to ignore that part of blender.
But if you want to improve your animation skills (presentations of multiple variations of same product), you have to try to use Library Overrides.

1 Like

It is note only interesting for animation but also for optimizing large scenes performance and memory wise.