What is the scientific name of that colored rough gloss in some materials.

What is the scientific name of colored rough gloss in materials ?

I am not a scientist in materials, but I think to see in some materials a rough colored gloss, like in satin, sports-wear, fabric for tent, hair, fibers, and maybe some stones, pearls, shells, skin, fish.

I make those with a diffuse shader ( = already rough glossy , right?), with a rough glossy ( 0.3 roughness) colored without Fresnel ( anyway if I should put Fresnel here, Fresnel effect almost disappears ? ). And on top of that I put a colorless, sharper reflection which has than Fresnel.

I used to call it metallicness, but I suppose that is a wrong name. So what is that rough colored gloss I think to see in those materials ?

Often we talk about the translucency, transparency, etc of a material, but this colored-rough-gloss property, I don’t see people talking about it.

gloss reflections

but if you want more control then use the PBR nodes setup
gives a more physically correct set up!

happy cl

Reference pictures would be helpful to understand what you’re referring to. Something like what I’m attaching below? Shiny fabric like this or satin is IMO particularly hard because the visual qualities are created by very small surface textures that are hard to simulate correctly with bump or normal maps. For satin, I’ve had some success with mixing anisotropic glossy shaders. In fact I would guess that a lot of what you’re referring to (hair for instance) is similar to anisotropy. Which basically just means that the reflection is stronger in one direction than another.

Attachments

Iridescence?

All dielectric materials have non colored gloss (meaning, white reflections). Only metals have colored reflections (so copper or gold will tint reflections). You can have glass with powdered metal embedded in it (or on it), or mixed into paint (flecks in typical car paint).