What NOT to do...new project

I’ve been learning Blender for a few months now, and I’m really into it. I’m decided to start a pretty big project in Blender, after doing a good many tut’s and reading the manual. I’m going to model Beauvais Cathedral, but add the collapsed nave…a sort of “proof of concept” for future prjects of the same sort. I plan to use this model for years to come, since it will be very involved to make.

My question to the folks who’ve been using Blender for a while now: What sorts of things should I avoid doing now, that might haunt me later? I’m not as familiar with the ins and outs of the program yet, so I might be modeling things in ways that might really screw me up later on. It might be used in real-time game engines as a walk-through environment, so converting it to a low-poly model might be required. I’m looking at using NURBS for much of the stonework ribs and columns (extruding along a path), and doing a lot of UV work for textures.

Get as detailed/specific as you like on this. Anything you might have learned NOT to do will help me out. Thanks!

I am a basic blender user so I have nothing profound, but here are some things I have learned.

• Each object you make give a name WHEN you make the object. Many times I have said, “Oh, I’ll get back to it,” and then later spend hours trying to sort out all of the pieces to make sure I have named them. Also, when you name objects do one of two things. Give them very unique names that at a moments glance anyone could decipher, or take a drawing of your model and grid it out. As part of each name add the grid reference. That way if you have say twenty stones spread out you can have Large_Stone_A1 and Large_Stone_A4 together. This really helps when you go to append a file. You said you wanted to use this file again in the future, and you may find that you want pieces of it for other models. Keeping the naming system in a very organized fashion helps with the longevity of a model.