What PC to buy next?

My PC died today. It is understandable, because it is like 10 years old. 256 RAM :slight_smile:
Now I am writing this from my moms laptop.

Anyways, to cut the story short, my dad is buying me a new computer specifically for my graphics training (Blender, PS, etc…), I just don’t know what graphics card and processor to choose. I can either go for Core i5 2500, or for Athlon II X4 645. Does it matter on which I get as far as rendering is concerned? What about graphics cards? Nvidia or Radeon? I am also considering to switch to Ubuntu Linux, I heard it is more stable than win7… I might be wrong. So, does linux support both Nvidia and ATI radeon cards? Also, will getting 8GB ram instead of 4GB make difference in terms of rendering speed? Or is it all about the CPU? Or graphics cards? Sorry if these questions sound stupid, but I am just starting out in blender, and I am only 10 years old anyways.

Please respond asap if you can, my dad is going to the consumer electronics store in about 6 hours.

Thanks!!!

I use openSUSE and Linux has open source drivers (called modules) available.
However there are proprietary modules available for Linux.
I prefer AMD over Intel because of pricing.
seems to me you can get more bang for your buck with cpu power if you go with AMD.
I don’t remember using a lot of ram when rendering but my cpu monitor was reporting high usage last time I looked during the render process.
personally I would get 4 gigs of ram instead of 8 gigs if it meant I had a faster processor.
in addition I would get vmware player to run windows 7 or xp from within Linux so that way you don’t have to reboot to use windows if you absolutely have to use windows.
I have an AMD with integrated Nvidia video and I am pleased with my setup.
from what I understand Intel ships with integrated ATI video.

Thanks for tips and help!