What software do people use to make a movie?

I was wondering what software people are using to add titles and mix avi sequences like those I make in blender with moving/fading text and to put the whole thing together. I recently used (Don’t blast me for this)movie maker 2. What other options could I have used?
Thanks,
Don.

You can do it all with Blender!!!
Using it’s sequence editor…
Here’s a tute that walks you through the basics of combining multiple clips as well as alpha masking & adding text. It seemed a bit daunting to a total noob @ first, but was well worth the effort.

Simon

I use Blender to create .mov and then mix the sound with Sony Vega Movie studio.

On the expensive side, Final Cut Pro is very flexible, especially for working with sound clips and sound effects layered into the video. It’s got way more horsepower than you need for putting in fades, titles and mixing avi clips, though. So, if Movie Maker 2 does the job, use it. No flames here.

The Blender sequence editor will do all the video effects you want, but doesn’t do audio mixing well, however, you can use the Audacity mixer to do the sound mixing. It’s harder to play with the mix this way, so it helps to have really good story boards or an animatic.

Virtual Dub if free and works great

Works great for combining video and sound, or converting formats, but can you actually edit clips with it? I don’t recall it having that capability.

yeah, you can add text, transition effections, change resolution, add/mix/change sound, you can do a whole lot with it other than changing formats.

edit: err, what do you mean edit clips?

Similar to Blender’s sequence editor, where you can put one video clip on one track, another on a second track, move the clips back and forth, add a third track, do fades or crosses between tracks…