What would be some tips to keep in mind when making an environment for games.

Aside from the tips I would specially like to know about making grass for games which look realistic and where should I start in making my own city for games, I am an intermediate modeler.
I have tried to make a city but I end up with a stupid city and rows of same buildings lined up and the roads look like sheets of black paper:no:.
I would also like to know how to make mountains for game environments.
The game engine I would be using is Unity5

Many thanks.

Design:

• Real cities are not build in one day. The majority of the big cities today have a history of about a century. Furthermore, they are limited by their surroundings.
  • with that in mind, start with the basics: why is the city there? Is it a port city? Is it a university city? Is it a trade-city? Las Vegas looks very differently from New York due to having a different reason for existing. Both look very different from Paris for similar reasons.
  • Model terrain first, then the reason why the city is there, so the port, or the city commercial center, etc.
  • Then start playing sim-city. Place the major roads, the other points of interest to the city. Decide which of these were build later and which earlier, and why. 50ties suburbs in America exist for a different reason(commuting, increase of wealth) than 50ties suburbs in Europe(rebuilding from the war), which you can see because the former looks a lot more luxurous than the later.
  • Don’t forget people live here, so having pavement, trashcans, other signs of human life and activity is very important.

Get these right first, even with just square blocks and even if it isn’t very pretty, it is at the least interesting, which is valuable to have done before making it pretty.

Thanks, so how should I model the mountains and grass?