What's the best music creation program?

I’m getting ready to start composing music for the movie I’m making, and I need it to soud good, as if it was played by an actual orchestra or live instruments. I’ve been using Anvil Studio to do some work, but the quality is just not there. It sounds too much like a keyboard.

I have no objection to purchasing a couple hundred dollar piece of software if it will give me the quality I need. I just need to know which program to buy.
I also need a program for sound effects, but that’s not as high priority as the music.

I’ll also admit that I have very little knowledge of digital music software (I’ve only used Anvil) so if at all possible I’d like to find a program that’s also user friendly.
Thanks in advance.

AFAIK, Anvil Studio only uses MIDI, so if you want something higher quality, I would suggest getting a better MIDI card. Any other software that uses MIDI for it’s output will sound the same as Anvil Studio. As for other software, you could try Cubase, I’ve heard it’s rather good. For writing music scores, I think Sibelius is probably the most common.
If you are using Linux, you could try Rosegarden (open source)

www.fruityloops.com

Very good software, allows you to compose music rather than just put a buncha audio clips together.

if you’re going for synthesizers, try FL Studio (Ven0mSevenX’s post) or Propellorheads’ Reason: http://www.propellerheads.se/reason/

also, try this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_sequencer

Could you give a description of you will be doing with it?

I’m a composer by trade, and I like ‘Reason’ very much…it has a few small things missing from it’s sequener, but the ‘in house’ approach works very well…and has a pretty decent orchestral library built in.

Mine was a crack, so…it’s like Blender :slight_smile: ha ha

Try also Audacity
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/ in connection with some VST plugins.
But IMO FL Studio is the best (but it cost so much…)