Whats the difference between Vulkan and OpenGL versions of UPBGE?

So, UPBGE is getting a Vulkan port. What is the difference between Vulkan and OpenGL versions of UPBGE? And how do they work?

Are M1 Macs capable of running a Vulkan version of UPBGE? I expect they would, but would the Vulkan UPBGE be faster than OpenGL? I know it would break a lot of glsl shaders, but would it also solve the EEVEE slowness issue with armatures?

Since I am on an M1 Mac, I should be able to run it shouldn’t I?
I remember checking at GitHub (I am no developer), and it said no progress was made on it, weird…

OpenGL vs. Vulkan

OpenGL

Pros: Has minimal GPU driver requirements and can run on most semi-modern devices. Sometimes it requires a computer upgrade though as well e.g. Windows 7 will not be able to run the latest OpenGL versions.
Cons: Slower and less optimized than Vulkan.

Vulkan

Pros: Faster than OpenGL.
Cons: Requires a lot more driver and system requirements. Supposedly it’s also a more difficult language to learn.

Fyi, I believe is DirectX11 < Vulkan > OpenGL, but DirectX12 is > Vulkan. It’s complicated and I’ll let more hardcore system enthusiast explain those comparisons themselves.

In terms of UPBGE 0.3+, since Vulkan uses an entirely different shading language, most shaders are going to break, as GLSL is designed for OpenGL, not Vulkan.

For MacOS, Blender/UPBGE is getting a Metal port. It is more advanced than the vulkan one.

Not true.

Vulkan beats everything, due to vulkan runs dx 11 and/or 12 making vulkan the better choice.

“shaders written in GLSL still can be reused: the source code can be compiled/translated by a standalone compiler into a new intermediate binary format called SPIR-V, which can then be consumed by the Vulkan API.”

Better read your source pages before posting :wink:

I never stated they could not, I stated they would break.
But I think you already knew that judging by your wink emoji. :slightly_smiling_face: