Whats The Easiest Way to make a Net

im building a ping pong table and of course i need a net i was wondering the easiest way to go about doing this

When I’ve done net-like things I’ve used a pair of array modifiers to make the net-like part… I don’t know if this is the easy way or not!

Sarah

alright thanks ill give it a try and let you know

This is my table and the net in the middle i need it to be a net i couldnt use the array mod plz help.

I am a noob, but if I had to do such an image, I´d simply create a net texture with an alpha channel for the net “holes” and apply it to the plane.

If you want to use the suggested array method remember to use Constant Offset also so the array copies get distant from each other.

Hope this helps, if not you have to tell specifically what went wrong.

1. Make a cross-shaped thingy.

2. Apply two array modifiers, one for X, one for Y

3. Get a mesh-like thingy back.

For better results, delete the end caps off the cross-thingy before adding the array modifiers; then set “merge” on your array modifiers. Apply the modifiers one at a time and you’ll end up with a mesh-like thingy in a single object, and you can tweak it however you need (like adding a border or something).

Of course, if you don’t need to model the mesh, I’d go with the previous poster’s suggestion of using an alpha channel. Depends on what you need and the results you want…

Sarah

Attachments

if I’[m not mistaken those netting goes vertical and horizontal. I think Leandro has the simplest and most elegant idea. Make one Wood texture with hard noise.In the materials panel, map input to Flat XXX with a size of about 5. Then create another texture channel, using the same wood texture, but map input Flat YYY. For both, map TO COL and Alpha. choose a Green color for both. That produces a nice fine mesh that has no vertices to mess with.

For photorealism, you’ll have to add a white edge along the top.

Cool! Was wondering about how to make a butterfly net.