What's your opinion of HP computers?

I started playing with Blender a couple weeks ago and now realize it’s time to buy a new, faster and more powerful computer. I’ve been to all the shops in my area that sell computers and as of right now am inclined to go with the new HP Pavilion Media Center TV PC (M8020N), 2.13GHz, 2GB DDR2 system memory, Dual 320GB HDs, 1066MHz frontside bus, 4MB cache, NVIDIA GeForce 7350 SE Graphics Card with 400MB video memory and 128MB dedicated, TV Tuner/Recorder, and more. Do you think this would be a good medium range computer to play on with Blender? Circuit City price after mail-in rebate is $1099.99. It seems to me that it has quite a lot of speed and power for that amount of money.

The RAM can be upgraded to a total of 8GB. Do you think that 2GB of RAM will keep me happy, or should I add a couple more gigs now?

This model can be seen at http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/Search.do?c=1&context=&keyword=m8020n&searchSection=All

Thanks,

d2

for blender you would be better stiking with xp,bad-no open gl sport on vista. ive got 2 gig ram and it works fine with the cind of modaling i do, my grafics card isant good enuf :frowning: , i dont no if that card is good. it has tuns of hd space, but that wont last long if you record alot of tv. genaraly for 3dcg you need lots of ram and a verry good grafics card.

well, I have bad experiance with them a few times…

my opinion of them is :

“PpppppffffffffpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfpfT!”