Where did Lightwave import/export go in 2.57?

I have been a Lightwave user for many, many years. I am new to Blender and I’m trying to learn how to use it. I started with version 2.49. Just as I was starting to get the hang of things, I ran across a tutorial for 2.57, so I figured I should upgrade. Now I find myself having to start learning all over again from scratch! Almost everything is different, and I can’t find things that I used to use. I’m not sure if they’re gone, or hiding somewhere.:confused:

I went to import a Lightwave model, which I could easily do in 2.49, but the import/export for the Lightwave format seems to be gone. Why!? I have a huge library of Lightwave format models, plus I will probably still be using Lightwave occasionally. I have been working on a model using both Blender and Lightwave.

Can this import/export filter be downloaded somewhere?

When I installed version 2.57, it seems to have replaced version 2.49. Do I have to re-install that?

Just some of the many questions I have.
Thanks!

-Don

Preferences,Add-ons,Import-Export,Find the lightwave format and mark the checkbox.

A few things are still missing that were present in 2.49, like render preview for example.
Most of the things are moved around for better organisation.
A lot of new things are added.

Import export formats are mostly add-ons now.
I don’t know why most of them are not on by default, but my guess would be that they wanted to leave only the most used on to avoid clutter.

Thank you!!

Is it possible to have 2.49 and 2.57 installed at the same time?

Where is the box that showed all the preferences for things like the middle mouse button? That window type seems to be gone.

Is it possible to have 2.49 and 2.57 installed at the same time?

Use Zips instead of installers?

Where is the box that showed all the preferences for things like the middle mouse button? That window type seems to be gone.

File/Preferences/Input, i presume.