Where in the hell did my model disappear to?

Hey Folks,
I’m relatively new to Blender (approx 3 weeks) and I’m having some seriously fuktup problems with the program.
My number one beyotch is this: After setting up and aligning three views of my photo model (front, side, rear), two of the photos just disappear. This leaves only the rear view shot, but the cube is still shown from all directions. I can reboot the program and sometimes only two photos show; while at other times, all three will show. Why in the hell is it doing this?
I am sure of my object viewpoints and that I am correctly displaying them. I was messing around with the program this evening and I think it may have something to do with clicking the middle mouse button/wheel, but I’m not for certain. Has anyone else been thoroughly pissed-off because this has happened to them? How do I fix the problem?
My second beyotch is that sometimes I’ll drag open a split-screen window that seems to multiply like rabbits at Spring time. I can get rid of most of them, but have had two remain like two gray vertical posts that will not go away. I have to reboot to get the viewscreen back to normal. So far this isn’t a really big deal, but I can see it happening when I get further into the project. I figured maybe somebody has experienced this and knows how to get rid of them (and the dragging onto the triangle in the corner is not an option because no triangles or x’s are visible.
My final beyotch isn’t with the program itself. Rather, it is a technique that I viewed on a youTube tutorial where a guy is working with a female form.
I am trying to make the cube taller (longer) to match my model’s shoulder height, but I keep moving the location of the entire cube.