Where should the details be, in the model or in the texture?

Another noob question from me.

Yesterday i wanted to make something simple (didnt work because i was up very early for work and very sleepy :smile: )
I wanted to try a simple empty dungeon cell like the beginning of darksouls where lights gets in through the doorway. I wanted to add a stone stairs and was wondering. Should i add detail in the material with bump map or on the model.
Tried looking up some tutorials but some add all detail in material, for instance found a tutorial where a guy made a cobble stone material that you can just add to a plane and voila, looks beautiful, almost all details are in the material. Other tutorials do the opposite, where a guy used modeling to scrape the stones to get the details and added a fairly simple material. I spend 2 hours looking up the best approach instead of trying to model it, i’m fairly fast distraced sometimes :blush: . Since i’m just beginning i don’t want to learn myself an inneficient way. What is your tought on this?

extra: I would think the first is the way to go, but i need alot more practice is substance designer, although my free trial ends soon, and i find blender node system a bit harder to get results. Also tried the free texture sites out there but didnt find what I was looking for for now. I’d still like to hear the thoughts of people with experience and their approach.

Lots of love,
Steven

It depends… for example in a racing game you doesn’t need to model cobblestones… (you might even don’t need any normalmap for this). Of course you can do model a 3 millions polygon statue and import it into the new Unreal 5 gameengine to see it for 3 seconds in the demo… :rofl:

Both methods you refer to have pros and cons depending on many factors.