Which laptop should I get for Blender?

Hello, I have recently downloaded blender on my PC and am interested in purchasing a laptop since I am often away from home and would like to continue developing my skills. I am still an amateur but would like to eventually work on serious animations on this program. Therefore I am looking for a laptop that can handle the program well without lagging. My budget is low around $1000-$1500. I am considering getting a MacBook Air but I haven’t been able to find enough information on its capabilities with blender. Obviously I know my low budget means I will have to sacrifice some quality but I am looking for the best I can get within my price range. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I personally think that everything mac you have to pay about 3 times as much for the same hardware… I would personally go for a cheap gaming laptop with a numpad on the keyboard.

4 Likes

Really? The cheapest gaming laptop I could find is around the same price as the MacBook Air. My question is, which one would handle Blender better in your experience?

Compare the graphics card, processor, storage, etc. And if it doesn’t have a numpad yll be making life hard for yourself.

1 Like

get a laptop with enough VRAM because you will not be able to upgrade your GPU

1 Like

Thats not in it for that budget. At max 8Gb.

With a macbook you get less performance for the price.
You might look at the VICTUS Gaming Laptop with a 3060 or with a bit of a bump in the budget a 3070 with the legion series.

Have a look at some different models. I just bought the asus strix g15 with a 3070 ti but thats 2000 euros.

1 Like

Hey there,

It all comes down to the GPU mostly, the CPU should be matchy anyways I guess. And you can add RAM later