Which software to get?

(schvenk) #1

I suppose I’m asking for a somewhat biased response to this question, but I was hoping people could help me decide which 3D software to go with.

I don’t have a lot of experience with 3D modeling and rendering software packages, though I’m quite familiar with (and have written) 3D rendering algorithms from a computer science course I took in college. I currently work as a User Interface designer, and have reached a point where I need something more powerful than Photoshop to do some 3D graphics.

I’ve worked through some Blender tutorials and am getting comfortable in the interface. I definitely like the price :-). But I have some functional problems with the UI, at least in the Mac OS X version: When I click on things, there’s often a significant delay before the click is recognized. Sometimes the click isn’t recognized at all, and sometimes it’s recognized too quickly for me to be able to do whatever I was trying to do – like drag. As a result a lot of mistakes occur, and of course without an undo that’s unfortunate. Needless to say, this really slows me down.

I’ve also been looking around at various galleries online, and it seems like the quality of image – particularly anything that tries to be photorealistic – is better in galleries from other apps, like Lightwave or Pixels:3D. I’d rather go with an open source (and free) option with all things equal, but since I’m likely to invest a lot more time learning whatever program I ultimately go with, I’m willing to spend some cash for another app if its interface is more responsive and its renderer better.

Ultimately I’d like to go with the best, most versatile product for general 3D modeling and rendering work, since I’m not 100% sure what I’ll be using it for down the line (though my guess is static images will be more important than animation, at least in the short term).

Can anyone provide some guidance? Thanks.

(BgDM) #2