Why are bone axis displayed at the tail?

It makes a lot more sense to display the axis on the head of the bone.
If there is a display issue, just adjust the way in which the axis are displayed so that they are not hidden by the display of the bone. Simple…

It’s counter-intuitive to display the axis on the tail…
However, I’m no developer. Can someone explain to my why this is?

2 Likes

And it would make more sense if the head was at the top also, but thats not the case either, other than bones - who stands on their head? Just saying…

That’s not very particular, it could just as well have been called the start and end or what-have-you.
Have you ever had a need to use the display axis mode to tune a rig? It’s not intuitive.

Yes, you are correct , sorry for the crappy reply - rigging and some modelling is all I do. I almost always have it on, but I have been doing this for a long time and it is just something I really don’t even notice anymore TBH. It would be nice if there was a way to adjust the transparency of it. I’m not sure what you mean by intuitive in this case, it’s just a display reference, you can turn it off.

The display is wonderful when I need it, I don’t mind how it looks at all. I’m just really curious why the display is at the end of the bone and not the top… the point from where the rotation actually occurs.

Just a thought…

I’d be surprised if there was a reason. I mean, it’s not a particularly big deal, but I agree with you. It’s misleading for things like locked tracks.

But damn, there are some bigger problems than that.

If you really wanted, you could make custom shapes for your bones with axes at the head and use those.

1 Like